Could you date yourself?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/10e/80027948/files/2015/01/img_2424.jpg
Could you date yourself? That is the real question. Don’t expect someone else to if you can’t. It sounds a little pitiful and it sounds a little creepy but it’s very important. Can you put up with yourself, daily mood swings, your heavy schedule, your quirky little habits and overall who you are as a person, period? If you’re not sure, find out! I’ve been single for nearly a year now and it has basically been like being forced to stare into a mirror.

Just me. No one to pick up the slack, or the bill! It’s interesting to me that I’ve learned more about myself these last few months than I’ve learned in these last few years. Not all has been good but things have surfaced about me that I may have forgotten or just never knew. I like me. I really do, but when I asked myself that big question I hesitantly said yes. It wasn’t a confident YES! Or a big hell yeah.

Because I hate hesitation I said to myself “challenge accepted”! I am going to date myself! In other words I am going to get to know myself better. Learn to enjoy my quirky habits and turn my little imperfections into perfection! And that’s perfect to me by the way. It’s very important to always be comfortable in your own skin. If you can’t be no one else can be and that’s what “dating yourself” can teach you basically. I am a woman and there are billions of us out there but what makes you different?

If you don’t have the answer to this question or you find yourself hesitantly saying yes, it’s time to date yourself too! Single doesn’t have to mean lonely. Yes, valuing someone else before yourself is the deepest form of love but until you learn to love yourself just as much you can’t make it there safely! Something inside me has awakened and I’m on this quest to find what drives me, what makes me who I am and most of all what KEEPS me happy. And like I said, I’m finding out some pretty interesting things about myself. So join me while I discover my capabilities, my strengths, my talents, my desires and my limits if any…

“There is a growing strength in women, but it’s in the the forehead. Not the forearm.” -Beverly Sills

Xoxo
Monica

8 thoughts on “Could you date yourself?

  1. You already know who you are. You are capable, strong, and talented. You just need to start affirming and accepting it. So everyday when YOU wake up, first thank God and then stand boldly in the mirror and say, “I am capable, I am strong and I am talented.” Then You will begin to see the amazing YOU that’s inside of you. This is who you are and more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a good questions that we are usually asked when a “good girl ” is in the process of getting to know us… Or the the whole “Would you let your daughter date you?”…. My response to both is not only a confident yes but a HELL YEA!! and I was pose a question of my on “Why not?”…. Since I know myself already I take the whole know the other gender approach… Know women in general, then know what the horoscopes say about each group of women, then know a woman in particular through conversation or just by being around them… I happen to have a quality that is very sought out in any kind of relationship…. I listen… That alone gets me in to most doors…..lol

    (to be continued if need be)

    Like

    • Lol thanks for your response and I would have to agree, listening can get you in the door! Thats for sure. But you can only listen to what you are being told and not everyone is comfortable with sharing how they really feel. In no way am I taking anything away from your methods because what works for you, worksfor you. However I am not one to believe that you can figure out a woman entirely based on their horoscope. There are a lot of simple people who are labeled as misunderstood. Another thing is confidence and your ability to communicate with a certain sex isn’t the angle for “dating yourself”. There is a deeper level! Personal growth? I’m not really asking if you think you’re good enough for someone else, more like for yourself. Have you reached all levels of happiness and mental peace that you are not seeking comfort or approval from anyone else? Or will you blame it on you just wanting to be entertained?

      Like

  3. I understand what you’re saying… I’m saying I have already achieved my deepest level of understanding myself…. The certain sex has to come into play, as a man we can’t or at least I won’t fully indulge in the possibility of me actually dating myself…. I rather put in the perspective from the outside looking in from the eyes of all women or the idea of what women want…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment